Notices
RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Ys200s

Old 01-04-2021, 10:56 PM
FBW

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Ys200s

Hi all,

Has anyone had a failure of the Conrod big end bearing on one of these engines?

Is the factory aware of the issue and is anything been done ?

Many Thanks
Old 01-07-2021, 06:09 PM
drac1
My Feedback: (4)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by FBW
Hi all,

Has anyone had a failure of the Conrod big end bearing on one of these engines?

Is the factory aware of the issue and is anything been done ?

Many Thanks
Yep, my 200S did the same.

Big end failures are nothing new. All the DZ engines have had a failure somewhere, sometime, it's not only the 200S.

My first 170 did. I've been using YS for 20 years with 1000's of flights and only had the 2 failures, so that's not too bad.
Old 01-07-2021, 06:19 PM
FBW

Originally Posted by drac1
Yep, my 200S did the same.

Big end failures are nothing new. All the DZ engines have had a failure somewhere, sometime, it's not only the 200S.

My first 170 did. I've been using YS for 20 years with 1000's of flights and only had the 2 failures, so that's not too bad.
Thanks drac1,
Do you think its oil content / quality related?
Old 01-07-2021, 06:39 PM
drac1

Originally Posted by FBW
Thanks drac1,
Do you think its oil content / quality related?
I doubt it's oil content related.

From the 170 onwards, all my engines are cdi and I've always used 10% oil. If it was oil %, I would have had more than the 2 failures.

If anything, I would say it may be that the bearing was a bit tight? But that's only a theory.

Previously, I've run a couple of tanks through on the test stand. Now I give the engine a really good break in with the break in needle open. I run at least 2 litres through at a very rich setting on the test stand, then close the break in needle and fly it.