Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

Custom Build - What motor to use?

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Custom Build - What motor to use?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2021, 04:51 PM
asunkari

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Custom Build - What motor to use?

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the RC Boating world, but I have experience in drones and RC airplanes. I'm currently working on a project to build an RC boat for my physics class for a drag race (the boat just needs to go straight - it does not need to turn). Obviously, since this is a drag race, the boat needs to be as fast as possible.

Because of size restrictions in the competition, the hull I'm using is relatively small w/ a catamaran stepped planing design. A CAD model of the design is attached, but the general specs is that it is 8 cm wide by 28 cm in length. The hull will be 3D-printed.

I want to use a brushless motor setup for the boat. Which motor would y'all recommend? I need a motor that is small enough for the boat, and I am not sure what kV I should use. If someone could provide me some guidance as to what motor(s) to use, it would be greatly appreciated. Also, what LiPo cell should I use?

Thank you in advance!
Attached Files
File Type: zip
Commodore.zip (1.68 MB, 50 views)
Old 05-09-2021, 08:34 AM
Got RPM

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Give us a few more details. What kind of water - flat smooth, slight ripple? How long is the race - 10 meters, 25 meters? One issue may be finding an appropriate prop. Another will be prop depth and CG position. The wrong settings will cause the cat to flip over on it’s back at full throttle. Is a catamaran hull required? A hydroplane might be a better choice for a short drag race.
Old 05-09-2021, 08:49 AM
asunkari

Originally Posted by Got RPM