Welcome to Club SAITO !

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2006, 06:23 PM
rlmcnii
My Feedback: (3)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Welcome to Club SAITO !

All,
I am assembling a Kange Waco UPF-7. The book says to anticipate o weight of 12 to 15.5 pounds. This one will probably be near the middle of that range, depending on the response to this question.

As I have no experience with the big-block Saitos, I need to ask: Do you big-block-experience people think that a Saito 1.50 would be ample for this airplane. It will be used for sport and basic IMAC style flying, no 3-D. On the other hand, dragging a model around at 75 or 80 percent power is no fun (at least for me) either. Level flight at 50 or 60 percent with the ability to enter elements of the basic sequence from level flight would be sufficient. Indeed, that power would probably be fine.

Originally, a 40cc gasser was under consideration. But, I do love those Saitos!

Any thoughts would be welcome; and, thank you in advance. rlmcnii
Old 06-17-2006, 09:13 PM
skillet92

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

What kind of fuel do i have to run. I have broke my 125 in on cool power 4c that is 15% i want to know if i can use my regular 15 cool power that i use in my 2c??
Old 06-17-2006, 09:27 PM
William Robison

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

rlmcnii:

Sorry, I read your post earlier and somehow thought I had answered it. An FA-150 with a Zinger 18x6 should give about 15 pounds thrust at 8500 rpm, more than sufficient for your WACo bipe.

Skillet:

15% nitro is fine, but why do you reject the safety and insurance offered by castor oil? Stay with Morgan Fuels, but switch to Omega. Your engines will thank you for the castor in the oil blend. This is the two strokes as well, but â€specially the cam and tappets in the Saito.

Bill.
Old 06-17-2006, 09:40 PM
skillet92