Welcome to Club SAITO !

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2019, 12:47 PM
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)

Received 41 Likes on 39 Posts

Originally Posted by Hobbsy
Did the link work for you Jim? Thanks
yes Dave, it did work, LOL first thing I thought was, that something was wrong with the site LOL

Jim
Old 01-06-2019, 12:59 PM
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts

That 300 sounds almost like my brothers Cessna 182 when he taxis.
Old 01-06-2019, 09:02 PM
Quikturn
My Feedback: (12)

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I see that yours came with a Fox Miracle plug in the front and a Hangar 9/McCoy plug in the rear. Mine came new and unrun with this J-Tec muffler, I passed the muffler on to a friend.
I’m no expert on this but my understanding is some people prefer different plugs for better operation.
Old 01-07-2019, 03:21 AM
Jesse Open

Received 92 Likes on 84 Posts

That 300 sounds almost like my brothers Cessna 182 when he taxis.
The 300 Saito twin is a great sounding engine. We have only one of them at our field. A fellow named "Dave". A real fine scratch built Smith Miniplane from home drawn plans. Quite a crowd pleaser and the sound is wonderful.
Old 01-07-2019, 04:11 AM
Hobbsy

Originally Posted by Quikturn

I’m no expert on this but my understanding is some people prefer different plugs for better operation.
Bill Robison speculated that it might be possible to have an ignition curve by using two different heat range plugs. His thought was that as the load or rpm or both increased the cooler plug would come more and more into play advancing the timing. I dunno, it sounds possible, there would be no way to be certain though.
Old 01-07-2019, 04:28 AM
Hobbsy

Originally Posted by Jesse Open
The 300 Saito twin is a great sounding engine. We have only one of them at our field. A fellow named "Dave". A real fine scratch built Smith Miniplane from home drawn plans. Quite a crowd pleaser and the sound is wonderful.