Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2006, 08:04 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Welcome to Club SAITO !

Some people say you can run a 15-8 but Mine seem overloaded with a 14-10.

They are happy with a 14-8.

Don't remember what rpm they turn. I just remember they are happy. Been a couple weeks since I ran one of mine.
Old 09-14-2006, 08:19 PM
daniel9314

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Looks like I need to just try a couple different props myself and see what works best.

I'm new to these Saito's, and 4 strokes in general, but already hooked.

Thanks for the help, this forum is a great resource.

Old 09-14-2006, 08:27 PM
w8ye

A MAS 15-6 will do a pretty loud buzz on a 100. Great on a war bird. The buzz is loudest just as the plane passes in front of you.
Old 09-14-2006, 08:46 PM
stallwart

Since we are talking prop sizes, what thoughts does anyone have for a FA82a on a 5-6lb plane? I've been running a 12x8 from first break-in run.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Cz79779.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	524098  
Old 09-14-2006, 08:51 PM
w8ye

A 12-8 should be a good choice for a war bird. Should give you a little speed.

Would hurt to try some different brands?

See which one you like best.

People vary in their taste for props. What works for one guy may be different from what his friend likes?
Old 09-14-2006, 09:01 PM
stallwart

I've tried both the MA and APC 12x8s. The MA pulls great, allowing non scale, almost vertical takeoff, and the APC provides plenty of speed, with sufficient pull for takeoff.
Since I am also new to 4 strokes, any input is greatly appreciated.
BTW, the OS "F" plug has worked wonders.
Old 09-14-2006, 10:31 PM
NM2K
My Feedback: (14)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

"BTW, the OS "F" plug has worked wonders."

----------------

They always do. <G>
Old 09-15-2006, 06:53 AM
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts